The Claret School U15 team won the NCRFA (National Capital Region Football Association) Summer Football League sponsored by Jollibee and PLDT last June 16 at the Alabang Country Club.

The Claretian boys who were born in 2003-2004 dominated the Makati Football Club, 5-0, in the championship match. Eventual MVP Florenz Tacardon scored a hat trick while Rain Castro and Gab Ramos contributed one goal apiece.  Claret had defeated the same Makati FC side in the elimination round, 4-1.


Semis versus Zobel Virtual Title Match

Pitted against Dela Salle Zobel team, the only team that dealt Claret its only loss in the elimination round, 1-5, the boys of legendary coach Bob Salvacion stepped up in the semifinals to pull off a surprising and exciting extra time victory over a team with several U15 national training pool members in its lineup. The same La Salle Zobel team were the RIFA (Rizal Football Association) League champions in the same category last March.

With just a few minutes left in the second extra time and the score tied at 4-4, was Florenz Tacardon made a forward pass to a running Paolo Canet who perfectly hit the shot for the game winner.

The victory proved once again that big hearts win games as Claret survived the match with three of its best players – Florenz Tacardon, Rain Castro and Lorenz Mateo already succumbing to cramps as early as the second half of regular time. Other goal scorers for Claret were Best Striker awardee Lorenz Mateo with two, while Florenz Tacardon and Patrick Lim (penalty) contributed one each.


Claret U9 and U15 Place 2nd and 3rd, Respectively  

Meanwhile, the Claret U9 team (born 2009-10), champs in the same category last year, placed second to Makati FC, a team with selected best players from different RIFA member school teams.

Claretian Filbert Tacardon, won his second straight Best Striker award, scoring 31 total goals in 10 matches.

The Claret U13 side (born 2005-06), eliminated last year in the same category, made a big stride as the team finished third this time, matching its recent RIFA League finish.  


Members of the Victorious Claret U15 Football Team :

Florenz Tacardon, Rain Castro, Gio Estrada, Patrick Lim, Lorenz Mateo, Gab Ramos, Ethan Garcia, Fidel Singson, Christian Biscarra, Allen Ramos, Zandy Igarta, Kevin Arizabal, Paolo Canet, Jenwil Salomon, Nico Dimatulac and Joaquin Arevalo. Coaches Bob Salvacion, Benj Anicete and Ayr Acejas.